Our History

Farmers Mutual Insurance Association has been organized since 1874 in the State of Iowa. Our Mutual is a corporation governed by a board of directors. It originally was called Farmers Mutual Fire Insurance Association of Fayette County. At that time it only covered losses for fire and lightning. The name was changed to Farmers Mutual Insurance Association and the company began to write fire and extended coverages. Since that day coverages have changed and we are pleased to grow with the industry to offer the best coverages for our customers.

Our Mutual can serve Fayette and surrounding counties, including:

  • Allamakee
  • Black Hawk
  • Bremer
  • Buchanan
  • Chickasaw
  • Clayton
  • Delaware
  • Fayette
  • Winneshiek

We have 17 agencies that are affiliated with our company and can assist you with any of your insurance needs and look forward to your call.

Farmers Mutual moved from Arlington, IA to our present location in Fayette, IA in 1963. We are located in downtown Fayette, Iowa. Our town is also the home of Upper Iowa University and sits on the scenic Volga River and not far from Volga State Park.


Ann M Langerman - Mutual Manager

Clarissa Wulfekuhle - Office Manager & Processor

Pete Shea - Inspector


Brett Ingersoll - President

Gene Nuss - Vice President

James Michels

Loras Manternach

Leanne Cline

Marilyn Bennett